But What About Sir Walter Scott?

Yes, I know. I have neglected my reading of Guy Mannering, which I started in early February.  Part of the problem was that – at that time – I didn’t have a hard copy of the book and was relying on my FreeBooks app on my iPhone to read.  Then, when I bought my nook a few weeks ago, I downloaded a free copy of the book to that device as well.  The copy is not very good, however, as it is a ‘scanned’ one and has many words that are misspelled as a result of that process.  Very disappointing.  Maybe I can download a better copy, or maybe I will just get a hard copy of this one.

All that aside, however, I also struggle with the language, which is very different from modern English and makes the going quite slow, which is discouraging.  I am putting this book on the shelf for awhile.  But wait, I just remembered I have next Thursday and Friday off and was going to skip town to a quiet place ‘in the country’ (the name and location of which I care not to divulge).  Maybe the seclusion will allow me to get through it. Stay tuned…

1 Comment

  1. Anastasia said,

    March 22, 2010 at 5:31 am

    I will. 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

