Alice in Wonderland

I also read this story Thursday night.  It’s very short (maybe I will also read “Through the Looking Glass” before I count it as a “book read in 2010”) and took me less than an hour – even at my traditionally slow pace.  It was quite strange.  I’m a bit mystified as to how and why it became so iconic and popular.  Maybe it was its strangeness that appeals to people.  Personally, I wonder if Carroll was ‘on drugs’ when he wrote it.  I’ll have to do some research.

Oh, and I read this book via the “Free Books” app on my iPhone.  With the new film coming out this weekend I thought maybe I should finally read this famous work in case I made it out to the movie theater.

2 Comments

  1. Anastasia said,

    March 22, 2010 at 5:35 am

    The Alice books are among my all time favourites; the word games and puzzles are quite wonderful; I still know a lot of the nonsense verse by heart! I saw the Tim Burton movie recently (reviewed on Ana the Imp)- a big disappointment. You have a super blog, Jay. 🙂

    Like

    • stentorpub said,

      March 23, 2010 at 5:10 am

      Thanks for your comments, Ana. I really need to read Through the Looking Glass too, while Alice in Wonderland is still fresh in my mind. I watched the trailer for the movie somewhere on-line – maybe it was on your blog. I haven’t gone to see it yet, though, and I’m not sure that I will (in the theater, anyway)
      Thanks for stopping by my blog!
      -JC

      Like


Leave a Reply

