Finished Travels With Charley

It only took four days to get through this book.  I think I enjoyed it just as much the second time around.  I had forgotten about his interlude in the ‘deep south’ and the distasteful encounters with racism found there.  He also spends a little too much time on Texas.  I particularly liked the passages where he discussed the intelligence of Charley (that’s his dog – in case you didn’t know); I think we’ve all known dogs that share some of his characteristics.  I also liked his comments on the great redwood trees, even saying how no portrait or picture can adequately convey the sense one gets when standing next to one.  This reminded me that recently – I think it was in National Geographic – there was a big deal about a fold-out picture of one of the Sequoia trees and how it was photographed in using a camera that panned down the entire length of one.  I just did a quick search and here is a link to where one could purchase that photo, or browse through some others.

Overall, I highly recommend this book.

Leave a Reply

