Blast from the Past I

This is my first post of a new category: (I.e. When I don’t get much reading done on my current books so I talk about something i’ve read in a prior year…)

The book I want to talk about now is The Narrative of A. Gordon Pym by Edgar Allan Poe. Back in October, my book club had an “Edgar Allan Poe Month” where we read a selection of his shorter works. My old paperback of Poe works also had several other Poe stories which were not part of our club’s reading list, and the long story above was one of them. I believe it is EAP’s longest work.

What was memorable to me were the meticulous descriptions of the privations endured at sea after a mutiny and storm left the protagonist and a few others with no water & provisions (cannibalism even makes an appearance – ugh!). Then, late in the book, the story takes a sci-fi turn featuring hollow-earth theory overtones. A peculiar, short little novel, but I enjoyed it very much.

Leave a Reply

