Okay, so it’s “Waverley”

I just realized I’ve been misspelling this in prior posts. The good news, though, is that I finally did finish Sir Walter Scott’s “Waverley” Sunday morning. That is my fifth book completed this year. (Waverley, however, was the one ‘straggler’ that I actually started in 2009). It was tough going – about 2 minutes per page reading – mainly because of the language and numerous notes to the text.

I’m glad I stuck to it, though, and consider Scott a fine writer (as countless fans apparently did in the 19th century). I would like to read more of his works. I found a chronology of his published works on Wikipedia and would like to continue on (they all appear to be among my “freebooks” options on my iPhone app), but I must try to read them without other books distracting me – as I allowed to happen with Waverley.

Leave a Reply

