Nicholas Nickleby

An old friend of mine texted me the other day saying she was watching “Nicholas Nickleby” on tv.  This is a bit of an ‘inside joke’ as in the early years of our friendship, I would often tease her that she “didn’t have any books” in her apartment (except for a few on the bottom ‘shelf’ of her tv stand).  One of them was Nicholas Nickleby by Charles Dickens, and she had said she’d tried to read it ‘a million times’ but could never get into it.  Finally, one day I said, “well, loan it to me and I will see if I can read it”  She did.  I did. It’s still sitting on my shelf…

Charles Dickens

I’ve often consider reading Dickens a future year’s “Project” but have never acted on it.  Maybe 2011 will be the year.  I’ve read some of his stuff already and, although I remember it was slow going, I also remember enjoying them all.  I think on my list were Great Expectations, Oliver Twist, Hard Times, and my favorite A Tale of Two Cities.  I’ve never read A Christmas Carol or David Copperfield, both of which I consider serious gaps in my cultural literacy.  Maybe someday…

How many books by Dickens have you read…?

3 Comments

  1. Jade said,

    April 11, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    I just finished reading Bleak House by Charles Dickens. At first the 998 page book seemed daunting and uninteresting but Dickens is a crafty man. I really enjoyed his attention to detail and magnitude of wit that is actually in the book. I may actually try to read another one of Dickens books in the future.

  2. Dale Barthauer said,

    May 19, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    Sorry Jay for posting to your comments so late. In 1995, at the end of which my first daughter was born, I read quite a few Dickens works. Great Expectations, Oliver Twist, Nicholas Nicholby, David Copperfield. It took me several years later to read A Tale of Two Cities. I’d say ATOTC and DC are tied for my favorites so far. I’m pretty sure I brought Nicholas Nicholby to the hospital when Abbey was born.

  3. stentorpub said,

    May 19, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    Oliver Twist features, in my opinion, one of the all-time greatest literary villains in the character of Bill Sikes. Stay away from that guy!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 593 other followers

